May 2, 2017
Jubilee Medal of the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters  awarded to Bill S. Hansson
During the Annual Celebration on April 28, 2017, the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters presented its jubilee medal to Bill S. Hansson, director of the Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology and Vice President of the Max Planck Society, who gave a lecture on  "Why does it smell good or nasty? - An insect perspective". The society's medal is awarded based on special achievements and actions for the society.

April 7, 2017
Beutenberg Campus Research Prize awarded to Dapeng Li
During an award ceremony on April 6, 2017, Dapeng Li (on the left), who is currently a postdoc in the Department of Molecular Ecology, received the research prize from Beutenberg Campus Jena e.V. for the best PhD thesis in 2016. Dapeng Li investigated the the large variety of metabolites in wild tobacco Nicotiana attenuata by applying mass spectrometry and computational metabolomics . His PhD thesis "Tissue and population-level diversity in plant secondary metabolism: a systematic exploration using MS/MS structural analysis" which received a "summa cum laude"  produced four articles in internationally renowned journals including two first author papers in PNAS.
Beutenberg Campus Press Release

March 20, 2017
Roman Huber, Anja Meents, Wiebke Häger and Bettina Dudek winners of the IMPRS presentation awards
During the 16th IMPRS Symposium in Dorndorf, Roman Huber (best talk: "Capacity and storage duration of an ant's olfactory memory"), Anja Meents (best poster: "DMNT-induced upregulation of defensive sporamin in sweet potato"), Wiebke Häger (best poster: "Interaction of beetle polygalacturonases with plant cell wall proteins – heterologous expression of potential inhibitors") and Bettina Dudek (best talk: "Where, when and how? The secrets of effective nudicaulin production in Papaver nudicaule petals") (photo, from left to right) received the IMPRS travel awards for the best PhD student presentations.

February 28, 2017
Bill S. Hansson elected into the African Academy of Sciences 
Bill S. Hansson, director of the Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology and vice president of the Max Planck Society, was elected into the African Academy of Sciences (AAS) as an associate member to acknowledge his outstanding contribution to research in the field of chemical ecology in Africa. Since  2006, he has been a member of the Governing Council of the International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (icipe) in Nairobi, Kenya, and was its chair from 2014 until 2016.