Change of Leadership of the Department of Molecular Ecology

Since  November 2020, the Department of Molecular Ecology is led by Acting Director Sarah O’Connor.  The former Director Ian Baldwin now serves as Leader of the Research Group of a Scientific Member of the Max Planck Society (FG WiMi, Forschungsgruppe Wissenschaftliches Mitglied) and he continues his research at the Institute in this role.  This administrative change, approved by the Senate of the Max Planck Society and implemented by the President, resulted from recommendations based on confidential deliberations of a committee, external to the Institute.

Anyone with a personal interest in this action and its consequences may contact the Managing Director of the Institute at gfd [at]

All inquiries will be held in confidence.

Inquiries should be made before 30 June 2021.